Nepal Profile

Country Nepal
Head of the State: President
Head of the Government: Prime Minister
Capital City Kathmandu
National Flag Nepal Flag
The national flag of Nepal is the only national flag in the world which is not rectangular in shape. Nepal’s distinct triangular shape flag has the combination of crimson red and blue colours. The red colour represents the bravery and blue signifies peace and harmony. The pointed triangular shape of the flag symbolizes the mountains. In the top triangle is a crescent moon; the sun is in the lower triangle. The sun and moon depicted in the flag are the heavenly bodies that endure the nation’s perpetual existence in the planet. The flag was officially adopted on December 16, 1962.
Government type: Federal democratic Republic
Total Area of the Country 1,47,181 Sq. Km.
Topography: Geographically, the country is divided in to three regions; Mountain, Hill and Plain (Tarai). The lowest point from the sea level is Kechanakelan (68 meters) and the highest point is Mount Everest (8848 meters)
Total Population: 26,494,504, (Male 12,849,041, Female 13,645,463)
Population Growth Rate: 1.35 per annum
Population distribution according to geography:
Tarai: 50.27 percent
Hills: 43 percent
Mountains: 6.73 percent
Population density: 180 Per Square Kilometer
Urban Population: 17 percent
Caste/Ethnicity: 126
Languages spoken: 123 languages
Religion: Hinduism 81.3 percent, Buddhism 9 percent, Islam 4.4 percent, Kirat 3.1 percent, Christianity 1.4 percent
Literacy rate: 65.9 percent; Male 75.1 percent, Female 57.4 percent

(Statistics are based on Population Census 2011)